I love deadlines

Amy and Phyliss are like twins; they always turn up together, sit down on the opposite side of the meeting room table, lean back, fold their arms and ask me “have you come up with an idea for …” / “did you work on the … prototype” / “when can we expect …”. Then they look at me in a way that reminds me to showing up at school without my homework, tempting me to respond “uhh, that’s a good question!”. But I know that neither one of them would think that this was funny. I cherish those two, however, for their tenacity without which we would still be making paper bags.

Early this year we set out with the goal to develop and conclude production of a new Papernomad for this year’s back-to-school season: a folio for the iPad and iPad mini with two elegant new features which we will announce later.

In the run-up to the official launch, we will to straighten out the puzzle...

In the run-up to the official launch, we will straighten out this puzzle…

I have the highest respect for Amy and Phyliss and value their knowledge of the market. They push us to come up with new ideas and they force innovation, but – to quote Douglas Adams – I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.

We are now four weeks behind schedule, but at the end of this week we will finally be ready to ship the first few hundred new Papernomads. They are called Tootsie (for the iPad) and little Tootsie (for the iPad mini) – named after our favorite Honky Tonk bar in Nashville: Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge behind the Ryman Auditorium. Both models will be in available online and in stores at the first of October.

Amy and Phyliss, thank you for your encouragement. I am convinced that our combined efforts of the past 8 months were worth it. At my next visit to Nashville, the drinks at Tootsie’s will be on me ツ

Leave a Reply

